The Massachusetts Employment Lawyers Association (MELA)

MASSNELA Committees

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and the chairs of the Standing Committees. The Executive Committee is responsible for the general operation of the organization.

MELA Officers

President

David E. Belfort
Bennett & Belfort, P.C.
24 Thorndike Street, Suite 300
Cambridge, MA 02141
Phone: (617) 577-8800 x202
Fax: (617) 577-8811
Email: dbelfort@bennettandbelfort.com
Web: www.bennettandbelfort.com

Vice President

Inga Bernstein
Zalkind Duncan & Bernstein LLP
65A Atlantic Avenue
Boston, MA 02110
Phone: (617) 742-6020
Fax: (617) 742-3269
Email:  ibernstein@zalkindlaw.com
Web:  www.zalkindlaw.com

Treasurer

Christina L. Montgomery
Law Office of Christina L. Montgomery
134 Main Street
Watertown, MA 02472
Phone: (781) 577-1501
Fax: (781) 996-5391
Email: christina@clm-law.com
Web: www.clm-law.com

Secretary

Beth R. Myers
Rodgers, Powers & Schwartz LLP
18 Tremont Street
Boston, MA 02108
Phone: (617) 742-7010, Ext. 228
Fax: (617) 742-7225
Email: beth@theemploymentlawyers.com
Web: www.theemploymentlawyers.com

Standing Committees

Amicus Committee

Chair:  Tara Schwartz; Swartz Law, LLC
617-892-4275
tara@tswartzlaw.com

The Amicus Committee is responsible for receiving and processing requests for amicus briefs in employment law cases. The Committee gathers the information that will be considered in deciding whether a brief will be submitted. The Committee is responsible for facilitating the writing and filing of the brief; however, all members of MELA are welcome to participate in writing the briefs, whether they are members of the Committee or not.


MCAD/EEOC Committee

Chair:  Lynn Weissberg; Stern, Shapiro, Weissberg & Garin, LLP
617-742-5800  lweissberg@sswg.com

The MCAD Committee is responsible for keeping our membership informed of any changes in the substantive or procedural rulings and standards of the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination. The Committee meets with representatives of the MCAD to maintain MELA's relationship with MCAD, to address issues arising in agency proceedings and to explore ways in which the bar can best assist the agency in reaching its goals.


Legislative Committee

Co-Chairs: 
Kathy Jo Cook; KJC Law Firm
617.720.8447 kjcook@kjclawfirm.com
Philip Gordon; Gordon Law Group, LLP
617-536-1800 pgordon@gordonllp.com

The Legislative Committee is responsible for orchestrating MELA's activities with respect to changes in the legislation governing the rights of Massachusetts employees. The Committee facilitates member participation in lobbying efforts and works with other organizations to identify and respond to issues arising in workplace legislation.


Program Committee

Co-Chairs:  
Paul H. Merry; Law Office of Paul H. Merry
617-720-2400 paul.merry@fairworkplace.net
Lori A. Jodoin; Rodgers, Powers & Schwartz LLP
617-742-7010 Lori@theemploymentlawyers.com

The Program Committee is responsible for organizing and facilitating the programs for our general membership meetings. The topics are selected by the members of the executive committee based on the needs and interests of the membership.


The ERISA Committee

Chair: Jonathan M. Feigenbaum, Esquire
617-357-9700
jonathan@erisaattorneys.com

The ERISA Committee provides feedback and advice on cases, policies, statutes and regulations affecting employee benefit plans governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974. The goal of this committee is to advance the interests of employees and other beneficiaries covered by ERISA.


Wage and Hour & Attorney General Liaison Committee

Co-Chairs:
Jeffrey Morneau; Donohue, Hyland & Donohue, PC
413-536-1977 jmorneau@cmolawyers.com

The Wage and Hour Committee is responsible for keeping our membership informed of any changes in the state and federal laws related to overtime, minimum wage and related issues. The committee also meets with members of the Attorney General's office to build and maintain MELA's relationship with the Attorney General and to explore ways in which the bar can best assist the Attorney General in reaching her goals.


Membership Committee

Chair: Elizabeth Rodgers; Rodgers, Powers & Schwartz LLP
617-742-7010
erodgers@Theemploymentlawyers.com

The Membership Committee is responsible for recruiting new members to MELA and developing mentoring relationships between new members and long-time members of the organization.  The Committee is also responsible for developing and maintaining relationships with other bar associations and affinity groups.


Technology Committee

Chair:  Kevin C. Merritt; Segal Roitman, LLP
617-742-0208 
kmerritt@segalroitman.com

The Technology Committee focuses on MELA's ongoing initiatives to enhance member benefits through evolving technologies, including a new and improved MELA website, improved online discussion groups, "e-announcement" capabilities, a virtual "brief bank," and advice on leveraging technology for better employee advocacy.

 


The Massachusetts Employment Lawyers Association (MELA)

 

Home | Committees | Membership Directory | Join MELA | Contact Us | Disclaimer

MELA :: The Massachusetts Employment Lawyers Association, Inc.
Email: info@massnela.org

An ElytraDesign