Committees

Executive Committee


The Executive Committee consists of the President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary and the chairs of the Standing Committees. The Executive Committee is responsible for the general operation of the organization.

MELA Officers

President:  Gavriela M. Bogin-Farber  
Vice President: David I. Brody
Treasurer: Joseph L. Sulman
Secretary: Kathleen Brekka

Visit our Officers Page to learn more about our officers.

Standing Committees

Amicus Committee

Co-Chairs:
Rebecca Pontikes, Pontikes Law, LLC
617-357-1888; rpontikes@pontikeslawllc.com

Monica Shah, Zalkind Duncan & Bernstein LLP 
617-742-6020; mshah@zalkindlaw.com

The Amicus Committee is responsible for receiving and processing requests for amicus briefs in employment law cases. The Committee gathers the information that will be considered in deciding whether a brief will be submitted. The Committee is responsible for facilitating the writing and filing of the brief; however, all members of MELA are welcome to participate in writing the briefs, whether they are members of the Committee or not.

Attorneys of Color Committee

Chair: Chetan Tiwari, Tiwari Law

617-652-0650; ctiwari@tiwarilaw.com

T
he Attorneys of Color Committee seeks to: (1) promote the professional accomplishments of attorneys of color who practice plaintiff-side employment law; (2) increase the number of MELA members who identify as attorneys of color by engaging with non-MELA attorneys of color and law students of color; and (3) provide input on how proposed legislative changes or employment decisions impact employees of color. The Committee does not exclude MELA members who do not identify as people of color, and all are welcome to attend and participate.  However, the Chair of the Committee shall identity as a person of color.

The ERISA Committee

Chair: Jonathan M. Feigenbaum
617-357-9700; jonathan@erisaattorneys.com

The ERISA Committee provides feedback and advice on cases, policies, statutes and regulations affecting employee benefit plans governed by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974. The goal of this committee is to advance the interests of employees and other beneficiaries covered by ERISA.


MCAD/EEOC Committee

Co-Chairs:
Michaela May, Bennett & Belfort, PC
617-577-8800 mmay@bennettandbelfort.com

David Belfort, Bennett & Belfort PC
617-577-8800; Dbelfort@bennettandbelfort.com

The MCAD Committee is responsible for keeping our membership informed of any changes in the substantive or procedural rulings and standards of the Massachusetts Commission Against Discrimination. The Committee meets with representatives of the MCAD to maintain MELA's relationship with MCAD, to address issues arising in agency proceedings and to explore ways in which the bar can best assist the agency in reaching its goals.

Membership Committee

Co-Chairs:  
Chair: Bryn Sfetsios, Pontikes Law, LLC
617-357-1888; bsfetsios@pontikeslawllc.com


Sophia L. Hall, Lawyers for Civil Rights
617-984-0274; shall@lawyersforcivilrights.org

The Membership Committee is responsible for orchestrating MELA's activities/efforts aimed at increasing our membership and our diversity.  The Committee reaches out to law student organizations, recent graduates and to people who are practicing employment law without the benefit of MELA in an effort to achieve its membership goals while providing support to those practicing plaintiff-side employment law.

Legislative Committee

Chair: Philip Gordon, Gordon Law Group, LLP
617-536-1800;  pgordon@gordonllp.com

The Legislative Committee is responsible for orchestrating MELA's activities with respect to changes in the legislation governing the rights of Massachusetts employees. The Committee facilitates member participation in lobbying efforts and works with other organizations to identify and respond to issues arising in workplace legislation.

Program Committee

Co-Chairs:  
Elizabeth Mason, Mason Law
617-658-3018; emason@emasonlaw.com

Andrea L. Haas, Law Office of Joseph L. Sulman, Esq.
617-521-8600; ahaas@sulmanlaw.com


The Program Committee is responsible for organizing and facilitating the programs for our general membership meetings. The topics are selected by the members of the executive committee based on the needs and interests of the membership.

Social Committee

Chair: Bryn Sfetsios, Pontikes Law, LLC
617-357-1888; bsfetsios@pontikeslawllc.com

The Social Committee is responsible for planning informal networking events.

Technology Committee

Chair: Kevin C. Merritt, Merritt Law LLC
617-603-0088; kevin@merritt.law

The Technology Committee focuses on MELA's ongoing initiatives to enhance member benefits through evolving technologies, including a new and improved MELA website, improved online discussion groups, "e-announcement" capabilities, a virtual "brief bank," and advice on leveraging technology for better employee advocacy.

Department of Unemployment Assistance Committee

Chair: Jill Havens, Law Office of Jill Havens
617-870-3737; Jill.Havens@HavensLawOffice.com


Development Committee

 

Governance Committee

Gavriela M. Bogin-Farber, Messing, Rudavsky & Weliky, PC
617-742-0004, gbogin-farber@mrwemploymentlaw.com 

David I. Brody, Sherin and Lodgen, LLP
617-646-2081, dibrody@sherin.com

Paul H. Merry, Law Office of Paul H. Merry
617-720-2400; paul.merry@fairworkplace.net